No Bad Surprises In Public

Never plan to surprise the person responsible for a problem in a public meeting. The goals of performance work are measured in response time and throughput, not in how much drama you create when you point your accusing finger at the unsuspecting culprit.    drama

When you locate a problem, the first person you should find is the person who is responsible for that part of the computing world, and discuss that problem with him or her. Why? That person may know a lot more about that part of your computing world than you do, and may have further insights as to the root cause and the reason(s) why things are done this way. Often, I find that when I privately share my concerns and ask for help in crafting a list of possible solutions, that person is quite willing to be helpful.

I have made the mistake of not involving the person I believed was responsible for the problem and have suffered these consequences, usually in this exact order:

  1. The person responsible for that part of the computing world got angry and defensive and worked relentlessly to tear down my work and credibility.
  2. That person points out my ignorance and further points out the real problem is caused by some other part of the computing world owned by a different person. Now there are two angry people in the room.
  3. Now the manager becomes angry with me for creating tension among the staff.

It always works better when I talk to the responsible person privately well before I write up my recommendations. We look at the problem and explore solutions. Then I can walk into the meeting and say something like: “The problem is in this subnet. With the help of your networking guru, we have a few ideas on how to improve the situation.


For more hints on presenting your work see: The Every Computer Performance Book at  AmazonPowell’s Books, and on iTunes.


 

Leave a Reply

